When creating Events, it is often necessary to limit the number of participants. Capacity limits ensure that the instructor is not overloaded and that sufficient time, attention, and instruction is given to each attendee; or a physical capacity limit of a live, in-person location.
When enabled, Learners may join a waiting list for an event that is at full capacity.
The waiting list for a free event means that when an existing registrant cancels or capacity otherwise becomes available the first learner on the waiting list is auto-registered for the event.
When capacity is made available for a paid event, then all learners on the waiting list are notified and it’s first-come, first-served to purchase the available seats.
Enable Waiting Lists - Global Settings
Waiting Lists can be enabled globally for all events in the General tab of Event Configurations.
Enable Waiting Lists - Individual Event
To override the global setting and enable or disable a Waiting List for a specific event; go to the Basic Information tab of the Event edit screen, assign a registrant Capacity, and select to Enable Waiting List or use the global setting.
Reorder Waiting List
Go to Registrants list view > Quick Filter an Event > click View waiting list. Note that only events with the waiting list enabled show the View waiting list button.
In the slide-out window, the registrants currently in the Waiting List are shown. The order represents which registrants are auto-enrolled when capacity is available.
The registrants within the waiting list can be reordered by dragging a recipient to the desired location or manually entering the new placement ordering.
Add a User to the Waiting List of an Event
In the Registrants list, click New.
Select a User to be the registrant and select an Event with the Waiting List enabled.
In the Status field, select Waiting List.
The registrant is added to the Waiting List of the event.
Remove a learner from the waiting list
A Registrant can be removed from the waiting list by changing their Status to “Canceled.”
A wait-listed registrant can also be deleted entirely.
Users join a Waiting List from the Event Details page of the Learner Portal.
Auto-register from the waiting list
When an Event is free, registrants first in line on the waiting list are automatically enrolled when any of the following occurs:
- An Event’s capacity is increased
- A Learner cancels a registration
- An Admin, Team Lead, or Instructor cancels a registration
Waitlisted users who are automatically registered are sent a Registration notification email.
For paid Events, a User may add themselves to the Waiting List. When a space becomes available, they must return to the LMS and pay for the Event.
If a Parent Event has the Auto-Register Child Events toggle to Yes and the Learner is added to the Waiting List, they’re also added to the waiting list for Child Events and a single notification is sent.